Psalm 27:14

Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD. Psalm 27:14

Yesterday morning Pastor Bob referenced this verse during his sermon and I was immediately reminded how that verse has been taped to the mirror on my dresser for almost 10 months.

A couple weeks after our first placement fell through, I sat down on our bed with colored pieces of construction paper, Sharpies and my Bible. I was determined to find and write down encouraging scriptures to put around our house to help me through each agonizing day that passed.

I saw this verse many times and tried my best to let these words heal my broken heart. Some days were easier than others.

Finally, after 6 months, our prayers were answered when we were informed we had been chosen for the placement of a beautiful baby boy.

Fast forward to yesterday as I sat in service and saw these words appear on the projector screen. Tears abruptly filled my eyes as I thought of our adoption journey so far and how my precious son was just a few feet away experiencing the nursery for the first time. God had been moving pieces of the puzzle that I didn’t even know existed while my heart had been in shreds after our horrible loss. I didn’t know that God was saving us for Malachi and I didn’t know how different his story would be from Adelaide’s. Now that we are nearing finalization for our sweet boy, I can see a more complete picture of what God was up to during our pain.

And I just want to encourage anyone who is in a time of questioning or waiting or grieving that God loves you, He has a plan for you and He knows much better than we do. Be encouraged today friends, for His thoughts are much higher than ours.

IMG_20160302_141132

Leave a Reply

